Xmas

Friday, March 26, 2010

I passed with flying colors!

Fasting = 80 (should be under 95)

1 Hour = 132 (180)

2 Hour = 77 (155)

3 Hour = 65 (140).

No wonder I felt so crappy when I was done! If they think that I will do the three hour test again with a blood sugar under 140 on the screening they can kiss my arse!!!

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Three Hour Glucose Test

I know this needed to be done, but I sure hope that I don't have to do it again. As one of my friends put it, making a pregnant woman fast, it cruel and unusual punishment. It didn't help that Brom Hilda kept drawing blood from the same arm and same spot. I have a welt the size of a quarter and its growing.

I decided to take the afternoon off of work because I felt so icky after the test. I stopped and got myself a decaf Car.ibou treat and that always makes me feel better. Lets hope I don't have the Gestational Diabetes because those would have to be one of the first things to go. Perish that thought right out of here!!!

Now just waiting for my pizza to get here (the only thing that sounded good) and then I am going to curl up with my book for a quiet afternoon by myself.

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Home at Last!

After a long weekend in Missouri, we are home. There is no place like home. It is always nice to visit other places, friends and family, but there is still no place like home!

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Well I failed....

I failed my gestational diabetes screening and have to do the three hour test. Yeah, more sugary crap!

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Seriously, I'm Pregnant?

Could have fulled me.... I don't feel pregnant other than the bloating and weight gain. But let's be honest about that, I can do both on my own without any help from Beaker or the hormones. No morning sickness, no more headaches (except for the current migraine, which I got before I got pregnant.) Nothing! Is this common? I sure hope so and I hope it changes soon!

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Another Quilt Quilted....

I made two of these! Both for our good friends who have three year old boys that recently graduated to big boy beds.


Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Okay so it wasn't as bad as I thought....

Up until this afternoon, I believed that I had gained 30lbs over the last six weeks since fluid was taken out of my band. Saw the surgeon today and said, "I don't care who you are, 30lbs in six weeks even if you are pregnant is not acceptable." He said, "What 30lbs? Our scale shows only 22lbs gained and you lost 9lbs the first 5wks of pregnancy." So in reality, over 11 weeks of pregnancy I have only gained 13lbs. I can live with this. He did put fluid back in the band. Half way between where I was at the beginning and where he left me. Hopefully, this will leave me feeling a little bit more satisfied.


Sunday, March 7, 2010

Back home again

after a long quilting weekend in Hinckley. Had an ok time but I actually missed my mom who has been driving me nuts for months. The only scary thing that happened was my missing feet. They left each day after lunch and stubs and pain appeared in their place. They returned each morning but still don't know where they disappeared to each afternoon. I know that edema is common in pregancy but this was scary for me. I was drinking plenty of liquids and walked about every hour. I will have to watch this over the next couple of days and if this continues, I will have to call my OB.

On a side note, I go for a fill on Tuesday. Not sure this is gonna help with the rapid weight gain but it can't hurt at this point.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Got to see Beaker today

and boy has he grown! The OB couldn't find the heart beat using the doppler (too much fluff for that little heart beat to get through) so she decided to do an impromptu ultrasound. Got to see his heartbeat and a little leg. The first thing out of my mouth was that he looked like a little kimono dragon and SA agreed. He is measuring 11 weeks and since we know by DS IUI that he is 10wks 3 days, we know that he is growing ahead of schedule!

Because of my rapid weight gain, she is going to have me do the gestational diabetes test at 12 weeks. If I pass I am good until 24 weeks and she thinks I will pass without any problems but she just wants to be sure. She however seems to think that majority of my weight gain is water and not actual weight. I am guessing that she just doesn't understand weight loss surgery patients which is fine, its not her job too. She just wants to make sure that when I get a fill, that we aren't restricting my calories so much that I can't get enough nutrients for beaker.

Sunday, February 28, 2010

TAsology

Saw this on Wishing4One and thought hey its a good Sunday post and what better then to read some completely useless info about me right?


FOODOLOGY:


What is your salad dressing of choice? Ranch, Caesar or Poppyseed

What is your favorite sit-down restaurant? Kha.ns Mongolian BBQ

What is your favorite fast food restaurant? Subway

What food could you eat every day for two weeks and not get sick of? Fruit Snacks (Am I a two year old?)

What are your pizza toppings of choice? Pepperoni or Ham and Pineapple

How many televisions are in your house? Three - Living Room, Bedroom and Craft Room

What color cell phone do you have? White i.phone


BIOLOGY:


Are you right-handed or left-handed? Right

Have you ever had anything removed from your body? All 4 wisdom teeth

Have you ever been knocked unconscious? Surprisingly no! (Didn't get the nickname of Tornado for nothing)

Have you ever fainted? Once, when I was really sick.


BULLCRAPOLOGY:


If it were possible, would you want to know the day you were going to die? No way, I have a phobia of dying.

If you could change your name, what would you change it to? Not sure....

How many pairs of flip flops do you own? Waaay too many, they are my favorite!

Last person you talked to? SA


FAVORITOLOGY:


Season? Summer, I love swimming in the cool water and feel the heat beating down.

Holiday? All of them! My grandma use to decorate the house for each holiday.

Day of the week? Friday

Month? May or June

Color? Blue or Purple

Drink? Cold water while I am pregnant

Alcoholic? None


CURRENTOLOGY:


Missing someone? My niece and nephew in Missouri

What are you listening to? Move on TV

What are you watching? Madhouse

Worrying about? Getting ready for quilt retreat next week.

What's the last movie you saw? Shutter Island

Do you smile often? I like to think I do.

If you could change your eye color what would it be? Might go a tad bit bluer

What's on your wish list for your birthday? Money, because lets be honest, who can't use a little bit of money.

Can you do a chin-up? Oh heck no!

Does the future make you more nervous or excited? Excited, lots of changes over the next 30 weeks.

Have you been in a car wreck? Yes,several but they weren't my fault.

Have you caused a car wreck? Nope

Do you have an accent? Only when I leave the state of Minnesota

Last time you cried? Umm couldn't tell you but I do cry a lot.

Plans tonight? Quilt, more quilting, laundry, give the dog a bath

Have you ever felt like you hit rock bottom? I have.

Name three things you bought yesterday? Pop, Chips and chocolate. Long car ride to see SA's grandma who had another stroke yesterday.

Have you met someone who changed your life? SA

For the better or worse? Better

How did you bring in the New Year? At home after an evening at friends.

Would you go back in time if you were given the chance? Not a chance. It hasn't always been easy but it has made us(me) who we(I) are and that is all worth it.

What songs do you sing in the shower? Don't usually sing in the shower. The car yes!

Have you held hands with someone today? Not yet, SA still sleeping.

Who was the last person you took a picture of? My cats and dog.

Are most of the friends in your life new or old? Many of both. They come and go in my life as they need and I need.

Do you like pulpy orange juice? Not so much! Gives me major heartburn.

Last time you ate peanut butter and jelly? Last night! Didn't want the dinner we had cooked.

What were you doing at 12 a.m. last night? Going to the bathroom.

What was the first thing you thought of when you woke up? How much I had to pee!

Friday, February 26, 2010

Look at my baby!

Look how big beaker is getting! I just can't believe this little thing is growing in me. It just amazes me and I am ever so grateful.

Today I have not experienced any headaches which I like but now have some awful cramping/back pain in my lower back. Not sure what that is coming from but sure not enjoying it. I can't even use a heating pad to see if that helps to alleviate the pain.
Oh well, this too shall pass.

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Pee, Weight Gain, Clothes & Headaches

I got to pee in a cup today to confirm I am pregnant! Hahaha... They wouldn't listen to me that I have already had an ultrasound and heard the heartbeat. I suppose to make sure I am not having a phantom pregnancy since the two clinics haven't totally communicated yet. They confirmed via scale that I am gaining weight at an alarming weight. But she promised they wouldn't yell at me since I already now how to calorie count, how to eat properly and as she put it, I was doing enough yelling for everyone.

I see the bariatric surgeon in two weeks so if I can keep the weight gain consistent at 5lbs a week, hopefully, I can get some restriction and drop 500 calories a day from my diet.

I am at 9.5 weeks already moving into maternity clothes. I found that my top is still small enough that I can wear normal maternity tops but my bottom half is expanding and need to go into a pants size that no one carries in the store. So for now I just went to a plus size store and bought stretchy pants until it is warm enough to get capris to carry me through the summer and the end of the pregnancy.

Today was my second PT appointment for my headaches. Apparently my neck is very guarded and tight and could be the issue behind the day to day headaches. They have me doing some stretching on my own and then they are doing soft tissue massage. It seems to be working in combo with my chiro. I was headache free for three days over the weekend. So this should get me through until Thursday.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Uggg! This is ridiculous....



Two plus years ago, I had lapband surgery and lost 170+ lbs. Even with that weight loss I am still morbidly obese and thought carefully about getting pregnant at this size and spoke to my OB, my GP and my surgeon before we did any attempts. They all said to continue to lose weight before you get pregnant but we don't see you as high risk at this time.

Timeline - Jan 5 - Feb 2 Lost 10 pounds during my first six weeks of pregnancy. Yeah me!

Feb 2 - Morning Sickness has started, can't get water or food down and have nighttime acid. See surgeon get half of the fluid removed from my bad. Surgeon recommended eating about 2000 calories a day.

Feb 3 - Present - Sticking at 2000 - 2500 Calories a day and I have gained 15lbs. IN TWO FREAKING WEEKS!!!! Granted some of it is water retention but there is no way that I have eaten enough calories to gain this much weight.

Because I am morbidly obese I am suppose to gain 10-15 pounds over the entire pregnancy. I have already gained that and can't gain anymore? WTF am I going to do for the next 31.5 weeks?

I journal my foods every day via spark. SA and I are walking every day. Someone please talk me down off this ledge as SA isn't prepared to handle this!!!

Edit: Ok so I am reading an Eating Well When Book and this makes me feel a titch better: "Some overweight women who are chronic dieters or who lost a substantial amount of weight close to becoming pregnant may actually gain excessive amounts of weight during pregnancy, even if they don't overeat. Some experts speculate that a body that's been through a recent weight loss may feel "starved" and may overcompensate during pregnancy for that earlier loss of fat by piling on the pounds." So I can be doing what I am suppose to but my body says "F You" anyways????

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Happy Valentines Day to you all!

May you hold your loves one close today and every day!

Friday, February 12, 2010

One of my fears...

is that my migraines would remain or get worse with pregnancy is coming true. I have been home sick two days now with a migraine that over the counter T.ylenol won't touch. I left a message for my doctor this am around 8:30 who got back to me around noon saying that they were going to call in a prescription for T.ylenol with Code.ine. Wal.greens still hadn't called me by 3:30p so I called them and they hadn't received the prescription yet. (2nd time this has happened with this location in a month's time.) Called the doctor back and they re-called the prescription and finally got to take a pill 9.5 hours after I called the doctor.

I was worried before we got pregnant about the headaches as I am prevalent to them anyways. I see my chiro once a month and I wonder if I should bump that up over the next few months. I would really prefer not to have to take prescriptions but that it what it seems what its going to be!

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Okay so now....

I am excited! I got to see and hear beaker's strong little heartbeat today and there isn't any amount of crap that I have to go through that isn't worth it. Just so hard to believe in such a short time we have come so far. I consider us blessed and not about to forget that we only had to go through one treatment to get pregnant. There are so many others that fight month after month to have their heart broken. I wish I could say that I know how you feel but to be honest with all of us, I really can't. We were lucky and we both consider ourselves blessed. What I can do is to be there fighting along right with you! Supporting you, cheering you on, lending a shoulder, whatever my blogging friends need. Why? Because I know that if something were to every happen, you would be there for us. We are lucky and we consider ourselves blessed!

Face Closeup

Full Picture - Head by CRL

156 BPM

Umbilical Cord